Pure Existence

Homemade French Bread for Quarters!

Posted on: June 2, 2011

 

Homemade French Bread

Everyone LOVES bread, and if they don’t, then they should! Im obsessed with bread! I found myself buying a $2 loaf of bread from the bakery at my Price chopper about 3 times a week! A WEEK! I realized that is $6 a week, $24 a month! And what was there was what I had to choose from, hard or burnt that was what I could get! Well, for less than a dollar, around 80 cents, you can easily make your own HOMEMADE bread, and get the satisfaction of making it yourself and saving money!

  • 2 tbsp Active Dry yeast.
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 2 tsp. salt (can substitute garlic salt)
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 5 cups flour , Bread flour is best, but you can use all-purpose.
  • 1 tbsp cornmeal
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (or substitute butter or margarine)
I use a bread maker to mix my ingredients. I just add all the ingredients  EXCEPT THE CORNMEAL, according to the directions of my maker. My machine mixes, allows it to rise, punches it down, and then allows it to rise again.
I take the dough out and put it on a WEll floured surface to prepare to roll it out and make the loaves!
I first cut the dough in half, and then roll out the dough into a rectangle about 8×10
I then roll the dough to make a long log, Tuck the ends of the logs under the loaf.
I use lowfat butter to prepare the pan for baking buy just rubbing it onto the pan, now we sprinkle cornmeal onto the buttered pans.
and place the dough loaves onto the pan for the final rise.
Cover the loaves with a moist tea-towel or with Suran wrap or foil to keep from drying out! Place in a warm place for 45 min to rise and double in size!
Cut 3 or 4 SHALLOW slits in the breads about a inch apart.
Break a egg into a bowl and add a splash of water to it (about a tsp), and glaze the bread tops.
Place in the Pre-heated oven at 375 for about 20 mins. Or until desired brownness.
And shabam! Yummy easy homemade bread, you can make with the kids!
Just add a meal and you have the perfect dinner bread to go along with it!
Once you have the basics down you can make tons of breads, we love to make rosemary bread to go with a whole chicken dinner, were attempting tomato basil bread next! STAY TUNED
2 Responses to "Homemade French Bread for Quarters!"

>This recipe has a bit more yeast than I like, so I sometimes only put in 1 1/2 tbs….

You are the cutest little Betty Crocker! You were meant to be barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

My Perspective

